Bath CC Cotswold League Race

5 Aug , 2019  

The 5th Running of the Bath CC Cotswold League race was held over 8 laps of the hilly Stowey circuit near Bath. The KOM prime at the end of the 1st lap proved the springboard for the early break. Five riders, Jaque Coates, Morgan Curle, David Roper, George Wise and Rory Gilling worked together and opened up a 45 second gap by the end of the 2nd lap, this was extended to 1 min 20secs by the end of the 3rd lap. The position would hold steady until 30kms to go. At this point the peloton, led by Sixtysix RSN, started to close the gap and with two laps to go it was all back together. Immediately there were further attacks and a group of 14 riders got away.

These riders stayed together until the bottom of the final climb, whilst the peloton behind splintered into small groups. Bath Cycling Club Members Hayden Burton and Miles Burton proved too strong for the rest of the breakaway and won the race to the top of the final climb. The best placed Junior, William Truelove of Abergavenny Road Club, completed the podium. Jaques Koates was rewarded for his time in the break and won the 73 degrees KOM Competition.

Charlie Shields finished 9th. Sam Duffy riding in his first road race finished 14th. Conor Chandler riding for Zappi, on his first race back after an injury, finished 25th. Rob Pears after his exploits yesterday finished 30th and Darren Gardner fought hard to finish 38th. Martin MacDonald and Will Duffy had early mechanicals.

A very tough course with a high quality field meant for some very aggressive racing.

Thank you to everyone, Commissaires, Marshalls, NEG, Catering, Drivers, Service Vehicle, sign-on, signs, equipment and general support, who helped organise and put on this great event.

Place Name Club Category
1 Hayden Burton SixtySix RSN/Bath CC 2U23
2 Miles Burton SixtySix RSN/Bath CC 2
3 William Truelove Abergavenny Road Club 2J
4 Ben Millar Bike City 2
5 Andrew Kirby 73Degrees CC 2
6 Nathan Hallett Nopinz Symec Race Team 2
7 Nicholas Tyrie Primera-TeamJobs 2
8 Alistair Stubbs Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 2
9 Charlie Shields SixtySix RSN/Bath CC 2U23
10 Carl Jolly University of Bristol CC 3U23
11 Danny Axford Arctic Aircon RT 2V
12 Rory Gilling Velo Club Montpellier 2
13 Andrew Whittemore Exeter Wheelers 2
14 Sam Duffy Bath Cycling Club 3U23
15 Jacques Coates Cycle Team OnForm 2J
16 Lewis Whitcombe BIKESTRONG-KTM 3U23
17 Samuel Tillett Wales Racing Academy 2U23
18 Adrian Lawson Nopinz Symec Race Team 2V
19 Matt Lelliott Steele Davis Via Roma RT 2
20 Richard Harris Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club 2V
21 Maximillian Ashwanden University of Bath Cycling Club 3U23
22 David Roper Ride 24/7 2
23 Philip Hopley Radeon-Cycology RT 3
24 Euan Taylor Giant Cycling Club – Halo Films 3J
25 Conor Chandler Zappi Holdsworth 2U23
26 Steve Thomas Steele Davis Via Roma RT 2V
27 Joe Harris Velo Schils – Interbike RT 2
28 James Bevan Army Cycling Union 2
29 Kevin Thomas Bradford on Avon 3V
30 Robert Pears Bath Cycling Club 2V
31 Jack Phillips 73Degrees CC 3
32 Trevor Smith Cotswold Veldrijden 3
33 Andrew Wiley University Of Manchester CC 3
34 Samuel Wadsley Primera-TeamJobs 3U23
35 Ollie George University of Leeds 3
36 Ollie Rastall Farnborough & Camberley 2
37 Morgan Curle Halo Sports Cycling Team 2U23
38 Darren Gardner Bath Cycling Club 3V
39 Glyndwr Griffiths 73Degrees CC 2V




Comments are closed.